Schedules of the Constitution


Schedules of the Constitution
244 (2) and 276 246
First                  Territories of the States and Extent of the Union Territories                                                        1 & 4
Second             Salaries, Allowances etc. of Constitutional Authorities                                                                  59, 65, 75, 97, 125
PART A : Provisions as to the President and the Governor of States                                            148, 158, 164, 186,
PART B : Repealed.                                                                                                                  & 221
PART C : Provisions as to the Speaker and the Deputy Chairman of the Council of States & the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly & the Chairman & the Deputy Chairman of the Legislative Council of States. PART D : Provisions as to the Judges of the Supreme Court and of the High Courts.
PART E                      Provisions as to the Comptroller and Auditor-General of India.
Third                Prescribes the form of Oath or affirmitions to be taken by the Union Ministers,                            75, 99, 124, 148,
candidates for election to parliament, a member for election to parliament, Judges     164, 198 and 219
of the Supreme Court and Comptroller & Auditor General, the ministers of a state, candidates for election to State Legislature, Members of Legislature of a State, Judges of High Court etc.
Fourth              Allocation of seats to State and Union Territories in the R.ajya Sabha                                          4 and 80
Fifth                  Provisions as to the Administration and control of Scheduled areas and                                      244 (1)
TAsPM-7.–2oo8 Scheduled Tribes.
Sixth Seventh
PART A : General
PART B : Administration & control of Schedules areas and Scheduled Tribes. PART C : Scheduled Areas
PART D : Amendment of the Schedule
Provisions as to the Administration of Tribal Areas in the States of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram.
Division of Subjects into three lists :




It consists of 97 items,

i Some important are Defence of India, war and Peace, Arms, ammunition and

It consists of 66 items some of

them are Public Order, Police,

Prisons,     Public    health     and

It consists of 47 items, some of them

are     criminal  law  and  procedure,

marriage and divorce, preventive

explosives, Foreign Affairs, Atomic energy, Citizenship, Railways, National Sanitation,         Libraries,  Roads,
Agriculture,         Bridges,  Water
detention, adulteration of foodstuffs, education, forests, registration of births
Highways, Shipping, Airways, Aircraft and air navigation, Post & telegraph, supply,        Markets  and     Fairs,
Fisheries,         Land        revenue,
and deaths, trusts and trustees, Civil procedure, drugs, economic and social
Currency, Coinage, Foreign loans, Insurance, Banking, Elections, Census, Corporate Tax etc. Cooperative societies etc. planning, family planning, trade unions, newspapers, social security, stamp duties etc.

31 B
102 & 191
243 G 243 W
Eighth      I Languages recognised by the constitutions. Originally 14, presently 22
IAssamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Konkani, Kannada, Kashmir’, Manipuri, I Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, Bodo, Maithili, Santhali, Dogari.
Ninth       I Validation of certain Acts and Regulations dealing with land reforms.
Total 257 Acts by 1991. This schedule was added by Ist Amendment Act of 1951
Tenth                            I Provisions as to disqualification of members of Parliament and State Legislature on
ground of defection.
This schedule was added by 52nd Amendment Act of 1985.
Eleventh          This schedule includes provisions relating to Panchati Raj.
Twelfth                         This schedule includes provisions relating to Municipalities & Municipal Corporatons.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here