Parliamentary Committees:Standing Committees and Ad hoc Committees


. Parliamentary Committees

  • Parliamentary Committees appointment, terms of

office, functions and procedure of conducting business are regulated as per rules made by the two houses under Article 118(1) of the Constitution.

  • Parliamentary Committees are of two kinds. They are:

Standing Committees

: These are elected or appointed every year or periodically. Their work goes on or less, on a continuous basis.

Ad hoc Committees :

These are appointed as the need arises



  1. Estimates Committee  : Reports on “what economies, improvements in organisation, administrative reform consistent
  2. with policy underlying the estimates may be effected”. Members are drawn entirely from L.S.
  3. Public Accounts Committee : Scrutinises appropriation and finance accounts of Govt. & reports of CAG

Public Undertakings  : Examines reports of the CAG & also examines whether

  1. Public Undertakings are being run

Committee                          efficiently and managed in accordance with sound business principle & prudent commercial
B. DEPARTMENT RELATED COMMITTEES (Set up by Rules Committee of the Lok Sabha on April 1993) The functions of these Committes are : to consider the Demands for Grants of various Ministries/Dept. of Govt. of India and make reports to the Houses, to examine Bills referred to the Committee by the Chairman, Rajya Sabha or the Speaker, Lok Sabha and make reports, to consider Annual Reports of Ministries/Departments and make reports, and to consider policy documents presented to the Houses.
I. Committees to Inquire
(a)    Committee on Petitions :  Examines petitions on bills and on matters of general public interest.
(b)    Committee of Privileges :  Examines any question of Privilege referred to it by the House of Speaker/Chairman.

II. Committees to Scrutinise

(a)    Committee on Government Assurance
(b)    Committee on Subordinate Legislation
(c)    Committee on Papers Laid on : the Table

Keeps track on all assurances, promises, undertakings etc. given by ministers and pursues till they are implemented.
Scrutinises and reports to the House whether the power to make regulations, rules confered by the Constitution or Statutes is being properly excercised by the delegated authorities.
Examines papers laid on table of the House by Ministers, to see whether there has been compliance with provisions of the Constitution, Act or rule under which the paper has been laid.

III. Committees relating to the day-to-day business of the house.





Business Advisory Committee : Committee on Private Members’ : bills and Resolutions of the Lok Sabha
Rules Committee
Committee on Absence of members from the sitting of the House of Lok Sabha
Recommends allocation of time for items of Govt. and other business. Classifies and allocates time to Bills introduced by Private members, examines constitution amendment bills before their introduction by private members in the Lok Sabha. Rajya Sabha does not have this Committee.
Considers matters of procedure and conduct of business in the house. Considers application from members for leave or absence from sitting of the House.
Rajya Sabha does not have this Committee.

IV. Committee on the Welfare of SC’s and ST’s
To examine whether constitutional safeguards of these classes are properly implemented or not.
V. Committees concerned with provisions of facilities to members.
(a)    General Purposes Committee : Considers & advises speaker/chairman on matters concerning affairs of the House.
(b)    House Committee            : Deals with residential accomodation and other amenities for members.
VI. Joint Committee on Salaries and Allowances of Members of Parliament
Constituted under the Salary, Allowances & Pensions of Members of Parliament Act, 1954. Frame rules for payment of Salaries, Pensions, Allowances and Amenities like medical, housing, telephone expenses, etc.
VII. Joint Committee on Offices of Profit :
Recommends what offices ought to or ought not to disqualify a person choosen as a member of either house.
VIII. The Library Committee :
Consisting of members from both the houses. Considers matters concerning the Library of Parliament.
IX. Committee on Empowerment of women (constituted on 29th April 1997)
Consisting of members from both the houses. Constituted to secure status, dignity and equality for women in all fields.
X. Ethics Committee :
On 29 April, 1997 and 16 May, 2000, this Committee was constituted by Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha respectively.

  1. The Leaders of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha are accorded statutory recognition. Salary and other suitable facilities are extended to them through a separate legislation brought into force on 1st November, 1977.
  2. 11.  Government Business in Parliament
  • The Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs is entrusted with the responsibility of coordinating, planning and arranging Government Business in both Houses of Parliament.
  • Consultative Committees : Functioning of Consultative Committees of Members of Parliament for various Ministries is one of the functions allocated to the Ministry of Parliamentary affairs under the Govt. of India ‘Allocation of Business) Rules, 1961, The main objective of these committees is to provide a forum for informal discussion between Members of Parliament on the one hand, and Ministers and senior officers of the Govt. on the other hand, on the policies, principles and programmes of the Govt. and the manner of their implitation.
  • The minimum membership of a Consultative Committee is 10 and the maximum membership is 30. After the Constitution of the 15th Lok Sabha, 35 Consultative Committees attached to various Ministries have been constituted on 16th September, 2009.
  • Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs nominates M.P.’s on



These are of two types :

  1. Committees constituted either by two houses on a motion to inquire into and report on specific subjects.
  2. Select or Joint Committees on Bills : Appointed to consider and report on a particular bill.

Notes : • Public Accounts and Public Undertakings Committees consists of both the members of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha.

  • Committee on Estimates consists of only members from Lok Sabha.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here