Official Language-Devanagari scripts


Official Language


Hindi  in Devanagari scripts

  • a    With a view of ensuring compliance of the constitutional
  • provisions regarding official language and to promote the use of Hindi for the official purposes of the Union, the Department of Official Language was set up in lure 1975 as an independent Department,
  • The Department of Official Language primarily aims to replace the usage of English language with Hindi in all
  • The Ministry of Culture (Union Govt.) has given classical language status to Telugu and Kannada, bringing them into a league occupied by Sanskrit and Tamil till now.
  • the  Central Government offices through its different
  • activities   and programmes.
  • Article 343(1) of the Constitution provides that  Hindi  in Devanagari scripts


  • shall be the Official Language of the Union. Article 343(2) also provided for continuing the use of English in official work of the Union for a period of 15 years (i.e. up to 25 January 1965) from the date of the commencement of the Constitution. Article 343(3) empowered the Parliament to provide by law for continued use of English for official purposes even after 25 January 1965,
  • A Committee of Parliament on Official Language was constituted in 1976 under section 4 of the Official Languages Act, 1963 to periodically review the progress in the use of Hindi as the Official Language of the Union and to submit a report to the President. The Committee consists of 20 members of the Lok Sabha and 10 of the Rajya Sabha.
  • The Central Hindi Training Institution (CHTI) and Central Translation Bureau (CTB) are the two leading institutions for capacity-building in learning of Hindi Language, Typing, Shorthand, IT books and Translation skills.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here