Election Commission and Chief Election Commissioner


Election Commission

  • The Election Commission was established in accordance with the Constitution on 25 January, 1950. The Commission celebrated its Golden jubilee in 2001.
  • Originally, the Commission had only a Chief Election Commissioner It currently consists of Chief Election Commissioner and two Election Commissioners, appointed by the President.
  • Independence of the Election Commission and its insulation from executiv7,3 interference is ensured by a specific provision under Article 324(5) of the Constitution that the Chief Election Commissioner shall not be removed from his office except in like manner and on like grounds as a judge of the Supreme Court and conditions of his service shall not, be varied to his disadvantage after his appointment. The other Election Cornmissioner!::: cannot be removed from office except on recommendation of the Chief Election Commissioner.

Under the Constitution, the Commission also has advisory jurisdiction in the matter of post-election disqualification of sitting members of Parliament and State Legislature.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here